Information and MAPPING systems: Giorgia Lupi (accurat) interview – designboom | architecture & design magazine

See on Scoop.itMachines Pensantes

 I studied architecture at university but I have never built or designed any houses! during my studies I became very interested in the representation of information, and tried to push all my architectural and urban projects towards working with information and mapping systems. from 2006-2010 I collaborated with different interaction design firms in italy focusing my contributions on visual documentation and representation, mapping and information architecture.

 

it wasn’t’ until lately that I started working specifically with data visualization. it came naturally to me to progressively focus more and more on the quantitative side within information design field, and when i got to understand the true potential of working visually with structured data to convey information about phenomena or contexts, I simply fell in love with this world and the possibilities it opens. in 2011 I both co-founded my own information design company, accurat, and started a PHD in communication design within densitydesign lab at milan politecnico.

 

at accurat we rely on building multidisciplinary teams to work on our projects. our team is composed of designers, developers, data analysts, interaction designers, and also interestingly one of my partners simone is a sociologist. I coordinate the design teams with a focus on representation.

 

I have played a lot of piano, and done contemporary dance for 20 years, which I think this is kind of influences my design work in some way. I should also tell you who I am not: I cannot code, and I am not inclined towards it, sometimes I think ‘I could learn, I should learn, I’ll do it…’ but no, at the end of the day I’ve never applied myself to do it and probably never will!

 

 

See on www.designboom.com

A propos de l’Association Concert Urbain

L'association Concert-Urbain mène une action originale afin de mettre les nouvelles technologies au service du dialogue et de la concertation sociale. http://www.concert-urbain.org
Cet article a été publié dans associatif. Ajoutez ce permalien à vos favoris.

Laisser un commentaire

